OSU PRSSA

As a part of our updated blogging assignment, I thought I would write a bit about OSU’s chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). I have been a member since I first came to OSU in the fall of 2007, and will be the Programming Director for the upcoming school year. I have found the organization to be helpful to me in so many ways, and I wish that more people would take advantage of all that it has to offer.

We typically have meetings about once a month. Each meeting is very different from the one before. This past Thursday we had Alanna Bradley from OSU Communications come speak about what they do in their office, and internship opportunities there and elsewhere on campus. At the meeting before that Kristen Turley, who is a PR professional from Tulsa, came to speak to us on tips for job hunting and putting together resumes.  And I believe the meeting before that is when Bonnie Cain from the OSU Library and Becky Endicott from the OSU Foundation came for a panel discussion on marketing yourself. I have learned so much in just the past three meetings, and it’s exciting to hear so many professionals speak about a career I will soon have.

There is almost always some type of snack provided, and we even get free Hideaway Pizza,  Joseppi’s, or Mexico Joe’s occasionally (I know we’ve had other stuff as well, but my mind is blanking).   Anyway, what’s better than free food? Also, around Christmas we have a meeting where we decorate Christmas cards or cookies. So it’s always a fun time. I encourage anyone studying  PR to join, and if you’re already a member,  start coming to the meetings! I’ll be sure and post on sociallyorange.org when the next meeting will be, so hopefully we will see some more members getting involved. And if you would like some more info on OSU PRSSA just go to osuprssa.com!

Now, I’m off to cook a delicious little salmon dinner with the boyfriend! Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Celeste

About celcash

I am engaged and living in Frisco, TX with my fiance Arsen and our furry child Addie. I currently work in social media, and Arsen works in Finance. I spend my free time fixing up our new house and coming up with random ways to get out my creative energy. I have loved being engaged, but am ready to get the show on the road and be married already! View all posts by celcash

Leave a Reply

