Learning to pack light

It’s Spring Break time, and I couldn’t be more ready for a break from everything. At the moment I’m packing up to head to Texas with the boyfriend. No beaches this year, unfortunately, but at least we are getting out of town.

Packing for a trip is one of the biggest challenges for a girl who loves clothes. I usually wind up wearing about half of what I take, but I want to be prepared for every possible event that might happen to come up. I have, however, learned a few tricks to cut down (a bit) on luggage size.

First, I’ve started rolling my things. It honestly does save a ton of space to just roll up your jeans, sweats, and t-shirts. Usually, if I’m traveling in a car, I hang up anything nice, like my dresses or nicer shirts. Also, I’ve learned to choose outfits that color coordinate to cut down on the number of shoes that I take. I take one pair of nice heels, one pair of more casual heels, and then flats or sandals. Fortunately it’s going to be warm in Austin, so I was able to pack sandals, which is one of the main perks of summer. They barley take up any room. Finally, I’ve broken my awful habit of packing 10 pairs of jeans, one for every occasion and mood. It’s ridiculous, because no one else will notice if you wear the same pair a few days. So I take two casual pairs to go with my flats, and two dressier pairs to go with my heels. Also, I’ve started investing in all the travel size toiletries.

I’ve saved so much room by doing this. Although by looking at my luggage right now, you might not believe it. But for a week long trip I am taking a carry on size suitcase, one medium size bag, and a few hanging things. Such an improvement from the biggest suitcase I could possibly find, plus a bag for shoes and toiletries, for a 3 or 4 night stay!

I hope everyone who gets a Spring Break enjoys it, and everyone who doesn’t, I’m sorry….one of the most dreaded things in my near future is no more Spring Breaks once I hit the real world. Hope everyone has a great time no matter what they’re doing!

Celeste

About celcash

I am engaged and living in Frisco, TX with my fiance Arsen and our furry child Addie. I currently work in social media, and Arsen works in Finance. I spend my free time fixing up our new house and coming up with random ways to get out my creative energy. I have loved being engaged, but am ready to get the show on the road and be married already! View all posts by celcash

Leave a Reply

