Learning to love my social media!

So, I’m really starting to get into this whole social media thing. Twitter is seriously addicting. I find that if I go a couple of hours without checking it I start to get a little antsy! I can’t believe how much I am learning in my social media class, and how useful it all is! In class this past week we learned how to create a social networking site on-line, and it is so much easier than I would have imagined. I’m so happy that I’m in this class learning so much valuable information that will be so helpful for when I am out there job hunting. And the fact that I get to be in a career field that uses all of these means of communication and promotion is so exciting! I think it’s all so much fun and I can’t wait to learn more.

In class on Thursday our professor announced that a PR firm in Tulsa is actually hiring someone to be in charge of their social media. What an awesome job that would be! I wish I was out of school so I could apply.  Of course I don’t think I’m quite experienced enough, but hopefully by the end of the semester I will be!

It really looks like this is the way business is headed. I’ve been telling my mom she needs to join Twitter and get her own Web site for her new business. Luckily, I can help her do it now! I’m pretty sure before too long businesses that don’t have a presence on the Internet will be far behind their competition. It’s already somewhat the case, because personally if I am searching for a particular type of business on the Internet, I will always choose the one with a site over the other, just because it’s so much more convenient!

Anyhow, I believe that’s all for now….I need to go check out Twitter!

Celeste

About celcash

I am engaged and living in Frisco, TX with my fiance Arsen and our furry child Addie. I currently work in social media, and Arsen works in Finance. I spend my free time fixing up our new house and coming up with random ways to get out my creative energy. I have loved being engaged, but am ready to get the show on the road and be married already! View all posts by celcash

One response to “Learning to love my social media!

  • Lanie James

    Excellent entry Celeste! I feel the same way. Social media has so much potential and with technology/media convergence really affects how people communicate. Thank goodness I can check Twitter, Facebook, etc. from my iPhone!

    Lanie James
    Hire OSU Grads Team
    OSU Career Services
    Twitter: @JLanie @HireOSUgrads

Leave a Reply

