Looking Good on a Budget

As we have all heard a billion times by now, the economy is not so good at the moment. So I’m sure shopping for new clothes is the last thing most people are thinking about. However, if you are anything like me, it’s one of the first places your money will go. I realize it’s not the smartest investment, but I honestly can’t help it.

For me, shopping on a budget is nothing new. I have been living on the “poor college student” budget for almost  six years now. Yes, six. When I finish it will have taken me about seven years, on and off,  to receive a Bachelor’s degree. But that’s not the point. The point is, I know how to shop for clothes with very little money. Granted, I have been very lucky that my parents have paid most of my rent and bills over the years, but after the first couple years they really cut down on the extra spending money! (Can’t blame ’em)

Over the years I have jumped from store to store, depending on my age and style preference at the time, but three stores have remained my favorites throughout it all.

First and foremost, Forever 21 is my absolute favorite. They are up to date on all the trends, but still have all the classics you need to build your wardrobe on. I just bought the perfect little black dress there for New Year’s Eve, and I believe it was only $28 (give or take a couple bucks). They have super cute jeans ranging from $12.50 into the mid-$30’s, and I just got my new favorite pair on sale for $9.99.  They also have shockingly good deals on random items. Sometimes you can find the perfect summer dress for $12 or a jacket for $18. It is by far my favorite store, and lucky for all of us, they are opening in malls all over the place. In fact, most old Gadzooks stores are being replaced by them.

Next up is Wet Seal. I shopped there a bit in junior high, and kind of rediscovered it after high school. I actually worked there for quite awhile a couple years ago, and it is still my favorite job of all time. They have great accessories for super cheap, a lot of times with deals like 2 for $8 or $10. And their sunglasses are usually really cute and are on sale 2 for $10 most of the time from what I remember. Also, great jeans if you don’t have to have expensive brand name ones. I personally can’t afford to care anymore! They’ve got trendy tops for going out, usually never much more than $30.  For college-age girls, this is a wonderful place to find great deals.

Finally, Charlotte Russe is another favorite. I’ve kind of gone back and forth with this store, but for the past few seasons I’ve been pleasantly surprised with their stuff. I buy a lot of jeans here, because they often have 2 for $30 sales on their Refuge jeans, and I’ve been pretty happy with the fit of these. I also find a lot of dresses here, and they have great deals on accessories as well. Out of all three stores, this is the first place I look for shoes. The have a ton of choices, and always have the latest trends.

There are a lot of other great stores out there, but when I have money to spend on clothes, these are the first places I go. It honestly took me awhile to adjust to shopping on a budget, but once you are out of mom and dad’s house, you really don’t have much of a choice. Especially if you don’t want to rack up your credit card debt! I’ve been able to completely avoid it by shopping this way. Of course I wish I could still buy $80 jeans and $150 boots, but until I’m out of school, this is the best way I’ve found to do it!

Check out the links, and I hope I’ve helped someone out!

Celeste

About celcash

I am engaged and living in Frisco, TX with my fiance Arsen and our furry child Addie. I currently work in social media, and Arsen works in Finance. I spend my free time fixing up our new house and coming up with random ways to get out my creative energy. I have loved being engaged, but am ready to get the show on the road and be married already! View all posts by celcash

One response to “Looking Good on a Budget

  • meganwebb

    I LOVE sales shopping! I have to agree with you-Forever 21 and Charlotte Russe both have way cute clothes for good prices. I really like Charlotte Russe’s sales. I have so many $5 tops from there. But you’d never know. Forever 21 is a great place to find good deals, but I hate how you have to search the whole store from top to bottom. There is no rhyme or reason to their organization. That’s the only bad thing about that store. One of my other favorites is Kohl’s. They have really good sale racks.

Leave a Reply

